Iikka Vehkalahti

Executive Producer

Executive Producer of IV Films Ltd, Rough Cut Service and Dare To Dream Asia. One of the founders and board member of Steps.

Commissioning Editor for the Finnish Broadcasting Company, YLE Documentaries, Finland
1998-2015 Executive Producer for Steps For The Future and one of the Series Producers for Why Democracy. A visiting professor in Tampere University 2011-2012.

In YLE he commissioned hundreds of documentaries among them 3 Rooms Of Melancholy by Pirjo Honkasalo, Decent Factory by Thomas Balmes, Recepies for Disaster by John Webster , The Steam Of Life by Jonas Bärghell and Punk Synchrome by Jukka Kärkkäinen ja J-Passi.

He has been involved or supported numerous international well known documentaries like Act of Killing, Look Of Silence, Armadillo, Happiness, Don´t Breath, Placebo, The Ambassadors, Vivan les Antipodes etc…

He has been Executive Producer in documentaries produced in Asia, Middle-East and Africa. Among them are from India Lakshmi and Me by Nishta Jain, Lyari Notes by Maheen Zia a Miriam Chandy Menacherry, Cecile by Pankaj Johar and Nero´s Guests by Deepa Bhatia. He is one of the producers of Machines by Rahul Jain (awarded at Sundance 2017) and the producer of Raghu Rai- an unframed portrait by Avani Rai (in the production). He is a co-producer of Winnie by Pascal Lamche (awarded at Sundance 2017).

Iikka Vehkalahti has been lecturing, leading the workshops or having master classes in Russia, USA, India, South Africa, Kenya, DRC, Nepal, Canada, Australia and of course in many European countries. He has been tutor among others in Doc Incubator, Ex Oriente, DocEdge, IDFA Summer School, EuroDoc and Steps India training programs.

His most recent activities Rough Cut Service (roughcutservice.com) collects some of the best editors in the world to provide on-line support to documentary film makers with challenging productions. RCShas been working among others with films Houston We Have A Problem ( Oscar-candidate of Slovenia), For a Love Of A Man ( at Venice FF), An Insignificant Man, City of Sun (Berlinare panorama 2017), To Come Who I Was ( Grand Prix, Generation at Berlinare 2017).